PWD Register

Basic Conditions

According to the Constitution of the People's Republic of China, the administrative division of China is as follows:

(1) The country is divided into provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities directly under the Central Government;
(2) Provinces and autonomous regions are divided into autonomous prefectures, counties, autonomous counties and cities; and
(3) Counties and autonomous counties are divided into townships, ethnic townships, and towns.

Municipalities directly under the Central Government and other large cities are divided into districts and counties. Autonomous prefectures are divided into counties, autonomous counties and cities.

All autonomous regions, autonomous prefectures and autonomous counties are ethnic autonomous areas.

The state may establish special administrative regions when necessary.

Currently, there are 34 provincial-level administrative areas in China—four municipalities directly under the Central Government, 23 provinces, five autonomous regions and two special administrative regions.

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Having recently reverted from British imperial rule back to the protection of China, Hong Kong is a very special world-political circumstance. Since the People's Republic of China is a communist system and British Hong Kong was run under the western capitalist model, the government in China has rendered a political philosophy of "One country, two systems." The balance is a delicate one, and Hong Kong is truly a remarkable example of the elasticity of human social interaction.

Macao Special Administrative Region

Macao is another special example of China's "One country, two systems" policy. China regained control over this territory from the Portuguese in 1999, and have begun a series of political and social reforms, including an economic overhaul focusing on tourism and gambling.

Copyright©Link China Consulting.Ltd.Co